Franz Steiner Prize

The Franz Steiner Verlag and the German Historical Institute Washington (GHI) award the Franz Steiner Prize in Transatlantic History every two years to an outstanding scholarly book manuscript in the field of North American studies or transatlantic relations from the early modern period to the present. The prize, which carries an honorarium of €3,500, will next be awarded in 2021.

The prize-winning manuscript will be published in the series "Transatlantische Historische Studien," which the GHI has published in collaboration with the Franz Steiner Verlag since 1992. The GHI will assume the costs of publication. The winning manuscript will be professionally edited.

Book manuscripts in German and English are eligible for consideration. Only recently completed works will be considered. Bachelor's and master's thesis are not eligible, nor are works submitted for the Staatsexamen. The prize will not be awarded to a manuscript that is already under contract with a publisher or is set to appear in another book series. The prize selection committee will be composed of German and American scholars. The prize will be presented at the annual meeting of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Amerikastudien/German Association for American Studies (DGfA) in June 2021.

To be considered for the Franz Steiner Prize, send your manuscript, a one-page abstract, a letter of recommendation, and your CV to or to

German Historical Institue
Attn. Franz Steiner Prize
1607 New Hampshire Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20009 - USA

The prize will next be awarded in 2021. The deadline for submissions is September 15, 2020. Questions can be directed to the Deputy Director at the GHI, PD Dr. Axel Jansen (

Past Recipients


Anna Corsten


Elisabeth Piller


Prize not awarded


Elisabeth Engel


Anja Schäfers


Jan Surmann


Ulrike Weckel


Daniel Siemens