Fritz Stern Dissertation Prize, 1999

The 1999 Fritz Stern Dissertation Prizes were awarded to Ian McNeely (University of Oregon) and Andrew Zimmerman (George Washington University). The award ceremony took place at the 8th Annual Symposium of the Friends of the German Historical Institute on November 19, 1999. The Stern Prize Selection Committee was composed of William Hagen (University of California at Davis), Herbert Andrews (Towson State University), and Professor Ron Smelser (University of Utah).

  • Ian McNeely (University of Oregon), Writing, Citizenship, and the Making of Civil Society in Germany, 1780-1840 (Ph.D. dissertation, Harvard University, 1998).
  • Andrew Zimmerman (George Washington University), Anthropology and the Place of Knowledge in Imperial Berlin (Ph.D. dissertation, Columbia University, 1998).